Faculty Members Awarded Guggenheim Fellowships

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation recently announced the 2012 Guggenheim Fellows, 181 scholars recognized for their "exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts."

Eight Columbia professors were recognized, including Christia Mercer, Gustave M. Berne Professor of Philosophy and Chair of Literature Humanities; Alex Mincek, Professor of Music Humanities; Timothy Donnelly, Associate Professor of Creative Writing; and Matthew Jones, James R. Barker Associate Professor of Contemporary Civilization and Chair of Contemporary Civilization, all of whom teach undergraduate courses. Author Richard Snow (CC '70) was awarded a grant in the General Nonfiction category.

Since 2000, there have been over 20 Columbia professors recognized by the foundation. Columbia College is one of America’s premier liberal arts colleges, set within a leading research university where undergraduates have close contact with prize-winning, groundbreaking faculty and access to the resources of New York City, the world’s financial, cultural and communications capital. For more information, please visit the Academics section of our website.